Home > Past Annual Meetings > 2015 Annual Meetings

2015 Annual Meetings


Curtain falls on 2015 Annual Meetings

The 2015 AfDB Annual Meetings closed Friday in Abidjan, after five days of intensive activities including the commemoration the Bank’s 50th anniversary and the election of its 8th President, Nigeria’s Agriculture and Rural Development Minister, Akinwumi A. Adesina. Outgoing President Donald Kaberuka was honoured and the Bank applauded for its good financial results.

Speech of President Kaberuka

African Economic Outlook 2015 sets the stage

The launch of the African Economic Outlook 2015 opened the 50th AfDB Annual Meetings in Abidjan on Monday, May 25. Among the key recommendations of this year’s joint AfDB-OECD-UNDP publication: empowering youth, unlocking domestic financing and modernising economies.

Fifty years on, and from a very modest beginning, the AfDB has grown in stature and maturity, in brand and credibility.

It is important to remember that the so-called “New Africa” is made up of 54 countries in five regions. Africa is not a single monolithic whole. The only safe generalisation is that Africa is planning, managing and starting to finance its own destiny.

- Donald Kaberuka, AfDB President

During its 2015 Annual Meetings, the AfDB is proud to partner with


01/06/2015 - Outgoing President of AfDB pledges to continue to work for Africa

29/05/2015 - Curtain falls on 2015 AfDB Annual Meetings in Abidjan

29/05/2015 - Relations between Korea, Africa and the Bank are growing

29/05/2015 - Africa-India partnership at the centre of discussions: an opportunity for shared experience in project financing in Africa

29/05/2015 - Changing the education landscape to ensure jobs for youth in Africa

29/05/2015 - How to ensure Africa’s natural wealth stays in Africa

29/05/2015 - AfDB funds USD 70.5 million for Tanzania’s power sector reform and governance support programme

29/05/2015 - Structural change needed to spur innovation in Africa: AfDB 2015 Annual Development Effectiveness Review

28/05/2015 - Akinwumi Adesina of Nigeria elected 8th President of the AfDB